Simplification

Break down, pare down.

I spend so much of my time swirling around in my head that I just don’t focus on much, and when I do, I often get distracted on the way. I am still so comfortable with the chaos that I create it if it doesn’t find me, and my online life is a reflection of that: fragmented, scattered, and, for the most part, neglected.

Apropos of nothing, as it were.

I, like so many people in this linked-in age, have come to think of relative luxuries like Internet access and smartphones (without which we lived quite comfortably, before their invention) as basic to life, if we think about them at all. They are, for many of us, assumed. Assumed to be true, present. The question isn’t “do you?”, it’s “which one?”

I was even a relatively late adopter, buying an iPhone 3 in the summer of 2009, right after the launch of the 3GS and a fortuitous bit of grandmotherly surprise money made it “affordable”.

Actually, it just paid for the hardware.

After “only” paying $30 a month for unlimited data for almost three years, I realized how much I could have used that $1,000 or so, especially if it had been applied to those pesky student loans or something of that ilk.

It should be noted that I’m composing this post on a smartphone. Ahem.

All ironic self-awareness aside, I’m hoping to cut that expense, and do something useful with it. I’ll still use the existing hardware, reduced to wifi, and probably sense little difference.

After all, a commute is easily filled with knitting projects and library books.

2 thoughts on “Simplification

  1. I’ve been thinking hard about this. I do not have a smart phone, but I do benefit from those around me–when we’re getting directions someplace, mainly. Actually I never missed having one until I mistakenly assumed my travel companion had one and consequently didn’t print out a street map of our destination, leading to some good old-fashioned stopping at a gas station for directions. The following weekend, I took some minor tips to the suburbs in which my car companions tracked our progress on location on two different apps. I can see the usefulness of this. I started to reconsider my stance (which is, in essence, all I want my phone to do is make/take calls and texts).

    But now I’m reconsidering my reconsideration. My life already feels very cluttery. And fee-y. Good reminder to keep it simple.

    • Oh, lard, is this hard to stick with. I might be able to make those changes online, and I find myself hesitating. I’d really, *really* like to make the change without actually having to deal with the phone company, or look at all their options, and what they cost, and why my plan is *so much better* because I’m grandfathered in, and they don’t do unlimited data anymore, blah blah blah.

      Of course, I have only used *over* 3GB (which is the limit at the same price point as I’m paying now) ONCE in, oh, 18 months. Most of the time I use about 500MB.

      Still. How much of that can I do on wifi, that I have access to through our home internet service (which is very much necessary for Joel, freelancer)? Do I really need to give AT&T an extra $30/mo plus taxes and fees *just* to have slightly easier access to email? I mean, can’t it wait? If I but walk outside my building, I get wifi. I have it at most train stations.

      Knowing that the comparison (unlimited! data! vs. oh-you-only-get-3GB-boo-hoo) is there to *keep* me in a plan I’m not really using… ayiyi. Crass consumerism, you may just piss me off enough yet. I can *use* that anger, as well as the $30.

Leave a Reply

