s.c.a. projects I’m a documentation freak. I can…

s.c.a. projects

I’m a documentation freak. I can’t help it. I just don’t want to look at any book on medieval textiles and clothing manufacture, I want the ones with color photographs and analyses of extant garments and textiles from excavations. I want everything I do to be as accurate as possible. I want pure linen, wool, or silks — fabric, sewing thread, embroidery silks… everything. I want to see an existing garment (or painting of one) and construct it.

I’m that bad about illumination projects as well. I’m content to practice on these pre-printed pages, but I want parchment, vellum. Guache paints and real gold leaf. I have to make do for now, but I aspire to much more. This is the kind of quality I’m talking about. That kind of accuracy. Scary, isn’t it? Exactitude at such levels, what some [heathens and low-lifes, all] might call anal-retentiveness. I call it art with decication.

Leave a Reply

