wherein the author uses this site as an actual weblog

This via Cup O’ Joel, from Thoughts from Kansas:

“Kansas state Senator Kay O’Connor said in 2001:

I think the 19th Amendment, while it’s not an evil in and of itself, is a symptom of something I don’t approve of.… The 19th Amendment is around because men weren’t doing their jobs, and I think that’s sad. I believe the man should be the head of the family. The woman should be the heart of the family.

And that’s all well and good, I suppose. After all, a state senator is fairly limited in her ability to restrict the rights that the 19th Amendment grants. But Kay isn’t content to be a state Senator. She’s filed to run for Kansas Secretary of State, a position where she’d be directly responsible for ensuring that voting rights are protected.”

Realizing I’m just pointing to the pointer. Still. It’s at least reminded me that I need to register to vote (against such outrageousness) in the state of Kansas.

Read the whole entry here

2 thoughts on “wherein the author uses this site as an actual weblog

  1. I can’t wait to vote as an Indianan. We just went to the 4th of July parade, saw many many many candidates for (I think) an upcoming primary, and have no idea what any of them are all about. Bloomington is to Indiana as Lawrence is to Kansas, so I have a feeling there are some real zingers out there.

    ps. glad you decided to blog regularly; now I will know how the wedding plans are going 🙂

  2. Oh, I blog fairly regularly over at my LiveJournal too (http://jocelyncee.livejournal.com/)

    so if I’m not updating here I might be there. 🙂

    Sorry I missed your going away party! I had a shower the same day (I think my sister called to invite you, even though I knew you were moving) and we didn’t get done in time.

    Glad to know you’re there safe, etc. Be well! I’ll be keeping up with your blog as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

