A Return… to Important Matters

I have deeply neglected this blog in favor of ye LiveJournal lately (and in fact haven’t been posting to the LJ all that often either). Usually my posts have been pretty me-centered, just regular life-type stuff.

These days, however, I’m starting to need a forum for other, more serious topics. Thanks to Kit sending me forth into the world of women-in-comics (sites like Girl Wonder dot org and blogs like Girls Read Comics) I’ve stumbled onto a new topic: feminism.

An odd thing for the “liberated woman, daughter of a liberated woman”. It’s not that I thought I was Über-Feminist, but I did consider myself to be a reasonable, reasonably educated and reasonably aware human being. Now, from reading incredibly perceptive, intelligent, logical and well-written posts such that are found on blog collectives like the Official Scrub dot com Blog, Women’s Work and by individuals at Inside Out and Crimitism, I’m starting to think again. The kind of thinking I was first introduced to in Honors Intro to Philosophy, the kind of thinking that just doesn’t get done on a regular basis in my general vicinity (usually — there are notable exceptions).

So this blog has now been officially rededicated, as a place in which I might collect my thoughts, observations and analyses on this and related subjects, so that I might start exercising the thinking muscle again. It’s been far too long.

2 thoughts on “A Return… to Important Matters

  1. Aww, thanks for the compliment.

    I think it’s great that you’ve decided to use this as a platform to analyze and explore. Although I do warn you, once you start it’s incredibly hard to stop… even if on a regular basis you want to rip out your brain and say, “Stop making me see all the stupid!” 🙂

    Seriously, though, if you ever want to chat please feel free to e-mail me.

  2. Oh, I’m already getting sick of seeing teh stoopid — I need a place to vent about it, hence the blog re-purposing, so as to not take over every conversation with this. 😉

Leave a Reply

