I have seen the enemy, and he is stoopid.

You might remember, not so long ago, I blogged in response to a certain video I’d seen, one that decried rape for the crime it is. Of course, this was on YouTube, and a certain vehement anti-feminist (known here now as “ol’ V-boy”) had made some outrageous claims, using statistics and lots of exclamation points.

Well, this self-same vehement anti-feminist has seen fit to comment on this blog, once as with his usual inflammatory statements, which use the very same techniques and exhibit the same faulty reasoning/argumentation that I mentioned in my post.

He also saw fit to try and lure me/my readers into visiting his site anyway, by using someone else’s username to post a comment, someone whom I respect and admire, and who runs a feminist blogging community herself.

Unfortunately for ol’ V, I am neither angry nor stupid.

Because I’ve had time to see that V-boy is simply out to get other people angry, of course those being the feminists he believes to be out for the destruction of half of the species. News flash: only the truth hurts. Unsubstantiated statistics and comments based on assumptions that feminism = “WE ARE LESBIAN MENZHATERZ!!!!11eleven” are not going to annoy me in the slightest.

I can see them for the angry rant that they are, and I don’t have to take anyone else’s opinions personally.

As for trying to trick me (or WordPress) into approving his comment, apparently he doesn’t realize that

1) email and web addresses are visible to those moderating comments

and

2) I’m smart enough to compare IP addresses.

So, V-boy, should you attempt to rant here again, you are hereby notified that your comments will not be approved unless they are 1) pertinent and 2) civil.

8 thoughts on “I have seen the enemy, and he is stoopid.

  1. He did the same thing on my blog. Only he was impersonating *me*. On *my own blog*. As if I was somehow not going to notice.

  2. Oh, that’s rich. Seriously. Holy God, how ignorant (in the dictionary definition sense of the word) is this guy???

  3. Last night he did it *again*, impersonating Grace from Brand New Feminist. Using his email address and URL.

  4. All of a sudden, I’m failing to be impressed by anything ol’ V-boy does.

    Well, he’s not getting any air-time from me.

  5. Who did he try to impersonate here?? I wanna knooooooow.

    Also, congrats on getting your first resident troll! I didn’t get one of those… well, I don’t think I ever got one of those. But it might be because by the time it could become a problem, I had troll-quashing devices (discussion rules and later moderation) firmly in place.

  6. Actually, he tried to impersonate YOU.

    Seriously.

    Thanks for the congrats. I considered that a backhanded complement, of sorts, that he deigned to throw his spite at me. ^^

    I have moderation, just unannounced: If you’ve been approved once, you’re good. Otherwise I have to moderate.

    Since I didn’t feel like giving Bubba any airtime… ^^

    (Admittedly, I’m half-tempted to do that… but I dunno. It’s a bunch of ill-argued venom that I really don’t have time to refute or even parody.)

  7. You know, I had a feeling he’d try for me. What a gas.

    Thanks for the congrats. I considered that a backhanded complement, of sorts, that he deigned to throw his spite at me. ^^

    Oh, definitely. It means you’re playing with the big feminists now.

    (Admittedly, I’m half-tempted to do that… but I dunno. It’s a bunch of ill-argued venom that I really don’t have time to refute or even parody.)

    Yeah, it’s my experience that if you let one through, the others are emboldened. I only get the occasional flame now because no one has anything to point to and go, “Yeah, what he said, @!#$” I’m of the opinion that it’s better to err on the side of not arguing with/parodying the idiocy because it helps to create a safe space where your good commenters feel safe to express their opinions.

  8. I considered that a backhanded complement, of sorts, that he deigned to throw his spite at me. ^^

    Oh, definitely. It means you’re playing with the big feminists now.

    Really?
    *gushes* *sings “I’m in the big leagues, I’m in the big leagues*

    Yeah, it’s my experience that if you let one through, the others are emboldened.

    I can see that too. My thought is: there’s enough of this venom spewed out everywhere else; I don’t need to give it air time, too.

    Besides, V-boy *has* his own blog already. No need for me to give him mine, too.

    Yep, that confirmed my hesitation. The decision: “not to decide” has become the decision: “No”.

Comments are closed.