What will we do without Battlestar? + R.I.P.

Apparently, we’ll be playing a game. Or at least, a demo.

Nine months is a long time to wait for what is ostensibly the final season in a (for the most part) fantastic series, the first one I’ve watched loyally since the late 80s.* Finding out that the final season wouldn’t begin until January was just the opportunity (or possibly, just the marketing angle) for some folks who are making a flight simulator based on the new series.

Now, I’m usually a strategy game geek (most notably the Civilization series) but this game touches my geeky sensibilities in just such a way that I am tempted to try this one out, as soon as I get a minute. It’s, well, it looks great so far, although I only piddled around in the menus. The design is logical, the navigation is clear, and the visuals true to the BSG aesthetic. The 3-D modeling (using Truespace) looks fantastic in the screen shots. All I can say is there must be a lot of incredibly talented people working on this project.

A demo of Beyond the Red Line is available on all three major OS structures (PC, Mac and Linux) and my only complaint with the demo website is the complete lack of system reqs. My dearest one tried to download it to the laptop which is still running Mac OS 10.3.9, and it wouldn’t run, but works fine on the desktop, which is at 10.4.9.

A review of the game (demo) will follow if I decide to play it in the near future.

AND: Kurt Vonnegut died yesterday at the age of 84. Most know him for his longer works like Slaughterhouse Five, but I was introduced to him in English class with Harrison Bergeron. If you haven’t read HB, I suggest you do. It’s a pretty good illustration of the patriarchy, for one thing, whether or not Mr. Vonnegut intended that.

Requiescat in pace.

*There were three shows then: The Simpsons, ST:TNG and Quantum Leap.**
**Dean Stockwell’s presence in BSG just makes me happy.

2 thoughts on “What will we do without Battlestar? + R.I.P.

  1. Unfortunately the site with HB on it is obviously an assignment (so there’s a bit of commentary at the top), and I prefer to read without any “see how this is like something else we’ve studied”, but still.

    It amazes me that I have still not forgotten the name Diana Moon Glampers, even though the last time I read this story was about 10 years ago.

Leave a Reply

