Food Geekery: Banana Pecan Bread Pudding

At long last, I remember I have a blog.

I’ve got a couple of projects I want to tout, the first by request from Marilyn, who wanted to see how the banana bread pudding turned out. It wasn’t too bad, all things considered, although I have some changes I want to make for next time. Oh yes, there will be a next time.

I started out with possibly the best bread for pudding, ever: Challah (this loaf was from Farm to Market in KC, and had been waiting in my freezer for just such an event).

Challah

Sliced and beautiful, it needed drying out from the freezer, so I cubed it up and let it get toasty in the oven for a bit. While that was going on, I mixed up my usual egg batter: whole eggs, milk, sugar, vanilla extract and (this time, freshly grated) nutmeg — plus one innovation: the idea of bananas and bread pudding together sounded really rich and heavy, so I tried adding some lemon zest as well to the batter.

The finished product was layers of bread cubes, slightly too-ripe bananas, and pecan halves. Drizzling the top with melted butter and a little turbinado sugar and more nutmeg on top finished things off.

Banana Pecan Bread Pudding, finished

The resultant pudding was tasty, if not quite sweet enough, and not quite as saturated with the egg mixture at the top as I’d like. The lemon zest added a brightness that balanced the caramely sweetness of the bananas nicely. A little vanilla ice cream on top (of course!) and it made for a fulfilling dessert.

Bread pudding with ice cream

I’ve published the recipe at Open Source Food, if you have an interest.

Addendum: I found a wonderful sounding recipe for ‘bread and butter pudding’, apparently the British appellation for this dish, via Possibly Related Posts: Bread And Butter Pudding (with a lemon variation that I can’t wait to try).

4 thoughts on “Food Geekery: Banana Pecan Bread Pudding

  1. Bravo! Lovely, caramely sweetness -I can’t believe I just saw it now – I needed dessert so badly the other day. Looks just great. Next time, save some – or use my homemade challah! 🙂

  2. Oooh, homemade challah. I somehow knew you’d at least have a recipe, if not actually make a practice of baking it.

    Next time, I’ll share. I invariably make more bread pudding than even I can eat, and Joel will have maybe one serving of any sweets I make (except cheesecake, when the roles are reversed).

  3. Oh, definitely. Raisins are the usual fruit in my mom’s bread pudding recipe, at least. The bananas were actually an innovation for my raisin-hating husband.

    I’m a huge fan of bread pudding with raisins and apples, especially if you put lots of cinnamon in it too. Add a little vanilla sauce, and I’m ready for a big helping, whether I am actually hungry or not. *grin*

Leave a Reply

